Staff

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Babu Chalamala, Ph.D. Program Manager,
Energy Storage
bchalam@sandia.gov (505) 206-8161
Sharon RuizOffice Administrative Assistant saruiz@sandia.gov (505) 221-9565
David SokoloffMarketing and Communications dsokolo@sandia.gov (505) 274-8277

ANALYTICS & CONTROLS

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Ray Byrne, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer,
Analytics & Controls Lead
rhbyrne@sandia.gov (505) 844-8716
Pedro Barba, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer pbarba@sandia.gov (505) 284-3209
Andrew Benson, Ph.D. Economist agbenso@sandia.gov (505) 284-9395
Atri Bera, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer abera@sandia.gov (505) 553-5302
Jeff Carlson, Ph.D.Electrical Engineer jjcarls@sandia.gov (505) 844-9436
Hyungjin Choi, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer hchoi@sandia.gov (505) 313-9480
John Eddy, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer jpeddy@sandia.gov (505) 284-1642
Ryan Elliott, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer rtellio@sandia.gov (505) 844-8663
James Ellison Mechanical Engineer jelliso@sandia.gov 5056102239
Alvaro Furlani Bastos, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer afurlan@sandia.gov (505) 414-2315
Manuel Garcia, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer mgarc19@sandia.gov (530) 515-0732
Cliff Ho, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer ckho@sandia.gov (505) 844-2384
Cody Newlun, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer cjnewlu@sandia.gov
Tu Nguyen, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer tunguy@sandia.gov (505) 844-1722
Victoria Obrien Electrical Engineer vaobrie@sandia.gov
Brian Pierre, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer bjpierr@sandia.gov (505) 284-7955
David Rosewater, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer dmrose@sandia.gov (505) 844-3722
David Schoenwald, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer daschoe@sandia.gov (505) 977-5919
Ujjwol Tamrakar, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer utamrak@sandia.gov (505) 269-2415
Rodrigo Trevizan, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer rdtrevi@sandia.gov (505) 382-3349
Will Vining Software Engineer wfvinin@sandia.gov

DEMONSTRATION PROJECTS

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Dan Borneo Electrical Engineer,
Demonstrations Lead
drborne@sandia.gov (505) 263-0363
Waylon Clark Electrical Engineer wtclark@sandia.gov (505) 554-0120
Henry Guan Electrical Engineer hguan@sandia.gov (505) 206-2257
C. Ramesh Koripella Materials Scientist crkorip@sandia.gov (505) 845-7644

MATERIALS RESEARCH

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Erik Spoerke, Ph.D. Materials Scientist,
Battery Materials Lead
edspoer@sandia.gov (505) 284-1932
Travis Anderson, Ph.D. Chemist tmander@sandia.gov (505) 270-9523
Stephen Budy, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Researcher sbuddy@sandia.gov (864) 650-2963
Amalie Frischknecht, Ph.D. Physicist alfrisc@sandia.gov (505) 977-4290
Cy Fujimoto, Ph.D. Chemist chfujim@sandia.gov (505) 844-6432
Tim Lambert, Ph.D.Chemist tnlambe@sandia.gov (505) 284-6967
Adam Maraschky, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Researcher ammaras@sandia.gov (505) 844-9030
Melissa Meyerson, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Researcher mlmeyer@sandia.gov (505) 844-9954
Stephen Percival, Ph.D. Materials Scientist sperciv@sandia.gov (505) 845-0207
Amanda Peretti Laboratory Technologist asperet@sandia.gov (505) 845-7040
Noah Schorr, Ph.D. Chemist nschorr@sandia.gov (505) 844-6252
Leo Small, Ph.D. Materials Scientist ljsmall@sandia.gov (505) 844-9987
Bryan Wygant, Ph.D. Chemist bwygant@sandia.gov (505) 844-4344

POLICY & OUTREACH

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Will McNamara Policy Analyst jwmcnam@sandia.gov (505) 206-7156
Marisa MontesBusiness Development mmontes@sandia.gov
Howard Passell, Ph.D. Energy Resource Analyst hdpasse@sandia.gov (505) 550-5752

POWER ELECTRONICS

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Stan Atcitty, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer,
Power Electronics Lead
satcitt@sandia.gov (505) 284-2701
Gary BakerElectronics Technologist gdbaker@sandia.gov (505) 845-1126
Jonathan Bock, Ph.D. jabock@sandia.gov (573) 418-4676
Luciano Garcia Rodriguez, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer lagarc@sandia.gov (505) 239-0225
Bob Kaplar, Ph.D.Electrical Engineer rjkapla@sandia.gov (505) 280-7404
Todd Monson, Ph.D. Physicist tmonson@sandia.gov (505) 553-0933
Jacob Mueller, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer jmuelle@sandia.gov (505) 218-3490
Michael Ropp, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer meropp@sandia.gov (505) 221-0025

SAFETY

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Loraine Torres-Castro, Ph.D. Physicist,
Batery Safety Lead
ltorre@sandia.gov (505) 377-5492
Alex Bates, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer ambates@sandia.gov (505) 269-3480
John Hewson, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer jchewso@sandia.gov (505) 284-9210
Andrew Kurzawski, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer akurzaw@sandia.gov (505) 284-2836
Yuliya Preger, Ph.D. Chemical Engineer, Battery Reliability ypreger@sandia.gov (505) 218-3742
Randy Shurtz, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineer, Fire Science rshurtz@sandia.gov (505) 284-6540
Reed Wittman, Ph.D. Materials Scientist rwittm@sandia.gov (505) 681-4639

SYSTEM INTEGRATION

Name Technical Specialty Email Phone
Valerio De Angelis, Ph.D. Chemical Engineer,
System Integration Lead
vdeange@sandia.gov
Oindrilla Dutta, Ph.D. Electrical Engineer odutta@sandia.gov 5052381116
Robert WaunekaMechanical Technologist rwaunek@sandia.gov (505) 844-6638