The David A. Shirley Award was presented to Carl Percival (University of Manchester), Dudley Shallcross [(University of Bristol) not pictured], and Craig Taatjes and David Osborn (Sandia).

Craig Taatjes and David Osborn (both in 8353), along with collaborators at the universities of Manchester and Bristol, were given this LBNL Advanced Light Source (ALS) award for their work in making the first direct measurements of the reactions of Criegee intermediates and showing that their impact on tropospheric chemistry and climate may be substantially greater than previously assumed.

The research team conducted studies of gas-phase Criegee intermediates using Sandia’s multiplexed photoionization mass spectrometer at the ALS. Though the atmospheric importance of these Criegee intermediates has long been postulated, this was the first direct measurement of the rates and products of their reactions. This groundbreaking work was published in January 2012 in Science magazine.

This work was funded by the Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES) within the DOE’s Office of Science; the ALS is a scientific user facility supported by BES. More information about the award can be found here.